Online discussion forum reveals proper human diet

May 24, 2010 § Leave a comment

By Callum Smith: https://sites.google.com/site/callumsmithwebsitecopywriting/

Resulting from the internet, an online discussion forum has brought to our awareness what, despite the recommendations of our western food guides, comprises a proper human diet.

Government Food Pyramid (source: Food FAQ)

Caveman food pyramid (source: Cynergy CrossFit)

Below is an ethnographic compilation of what a low-carb, meat-and-fat diet does. There is no economic determination here, just honest people giving their testimonials shortly after switching to a low carbohydrate, high meat and fat diet.

The following testimonials were gathered from a website called Paleohacks.

John R: I have Addison’s and had depression and ADD diagnoses for years; the ADD went away within hours after removing gluten from my diet, the depression after a few weeks.

Ryan: I felt less lethargic going off of all of those foods with less brain fog. Adding wheat back in brings those symptoms right back and dairy does somewhat.

Nero: The more fat I eat the better is my sleep.

Michelle: I recently started drinking coconut milk and I seriously get really calm when I have it.

Paleolady: The one major depressive episode I had, my naturopath had me eat a high protein diet (at the time I rarely at chicken or fish, and didn’t eat any red meat, and ate WAY too much processed food). Within a week I noticed a big difference. I don’t get hot in the middle of the night anymore!…On the two occasions where I have not had a paleo dinner, I have once again woken up burning up.

Shebeeste: cutting wheat and corn has definitely helped even out my mood.

Fearsclave: I went Paleo in January. I’ve dropped another seventeen pounds since then. I’ve noticed my ability to handle job stress has improved too; I’m still in the same stressful line of work, but it feels like I’m dealing better with stress and am calmer most of the time.

Matt: The more meat I ate the better I felt, in conjuction with eliminating grains.

Rick Kiessig: Hi Louisa, my teeth-grinding has also stopped. I attribute that to avoiding gluten.

speno: I swear paleo has improved my reflexes and throwing accuracy.

Jae: A fairly common experience after going grain-free: all tooth plaque has disappeared…Chronic nighttime sinus congestion is diminished.

John R: No heartburn. Which sort of messes with my lifelong theory that my occasional heartburn was triggered by high-sat-fat meals…

Aaron: My frequent heartburn went away almost immediately upon starting paleo (a little over a month ago). No headaches either.

Kim: Ever since going low-carb/paleo about a year ago, I have been magically pain and PMS symptom-free…No more morning breath for me or the hubby!

Biodoc: Fewer headaches…The husband and I both have improved (the breath issue).

gilliebean: No more morning breath…My eyesight has improved…It’s easier to wake up in the morning.

Jae: I can’t say mine (morning breath) is GONE but it is much better.

Blue -the Thrifty Mom: My most startling physical change is that my arthritis is VASTLY improved and my Rosacia is GONE.

Glenn: I’ve also stopped having “night sweats”!

42: …my rosacea is also clearing…In general, I feel much better, more alert, less easily fatigued.

Andrea: My mood swings have lessened considerably, and like gilliebean, I find myself feeling refreshed in the morning whereas before it would take all the mental strength I had to get out of bed in the morning.

Heather: No bloating– used to have this all the time… probably from trouble digesting grains or maybe sugar. Also, no stomach pains, even after big meals, which I used to have often and attributed to high-fat meals (definitely wrong). Also… like the others said lower alcohol tolerance…oh and also, my husband acne on his back has disappeared.

Louisa: I can feel a build up of energy in my muscles and body that I never witnessed before paleo.

sajennings: Once I kicked gluten to the curb, the asthma vanished in less than a week.

Larry: while I haven’t eliminated casein entirely, when I do eat significant amounts of cheese my asthma comes back.

pieter d: Improvement in psoriasis…Calmness of mind….No more swollen eyes in the morning, but after a grain/carb cheat they are back…I haven’t been biting my fingernails for a long time.

Cave Man Mind: I used to wake up with a very slight runny nose; my old ‘normal’. No longer! I attribute this almost certainly to cutting gluten…Reduced body odor smell…No more hunger pangs…

Michelle: my sweat stopped smelling…no more painful bloating after a meal

eakthekat: No heartburn….my acne and psoriasis have started clearing….I have not needed my ADD meds nor my anti-depressants since January…If I get scratches, bruises or cuts I heal a lot faster and with less infection…I don’t get sick as easily…I have more energy. I also have less trouble falling asleep at night and waking in the morning…Off the ADD meds and I can finally read a book for more than 10 minutes!… My knuckles have gone from cracked and bleeding to totally healed…my skin has never looked better.

Elfreda: My itchy toes cleared up for good. (So long, Lamisil!)… Restless leg syndrome much much milder…Rosacea gone.

http://paleohacks.com/questions/1943/some-small-and-quirky-differences-you-have-noticed-since-going-paleo

Through online discussion forums, our digital culture can avoid corrupted information and therefore evolve towards a safer, sounder, and stronger society.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Online discussion forum reveals proper human diet at Communicating's Mutating.

meta

